Ole Henriksen Truth Serum

This isn’t a review so much as a footnote to say I’ve started using Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum to see how I liked the effects of Vitamin C on my skin. It’s reported to have 10% vitamin C, but I can’t verify that information on their website.  Here’s their ingredient list from their website.

Water (Aqua), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Calcium Ascorbate, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Euphrasia Officinalis Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Oleth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Benzophenone-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thioctic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Fragrance (Parfum), Yellow 6

I got it as part of a sample bag from Sephora, which was a killer way to try out an expensive vitamin C serum.

I’ll be interested to see how my skin likes it after a somewhat disastrous experience using Alpha Hydroxy’s ResQ retinol cream. The day after I used that, I had break outs everywhere. I spent a week trying everything I could to calm my skin down. Desperate to get the angry red bumps to go away, I tried this technique from 50 Shades of Snail to get rid of sebaceous filaments and treat my angry skin with lots of salicylic acid. Do not do the same mistake I did, and use that much salicylic acid and masks 2 days in a row. I got rid of all the angry red bumps, and stripped so much moisture from my skin. The dry, flaky skin was back, and after a week of intensive night routines involving sheet masks and pure marula oil from another sample my skin is finally back to normal.

So I’m excited to see if using actives is as miraculous as everyone else seems to think it is. Before the ResQ incident, I’d successfully used Mizon’s 8% AHA peeling serum, which is next up on the actives rotation. I’m definitely giving my skin time to adjust to all the crazy things I want to try. If this all works, the end goal is something like AHA one night, Vit C another night, BHA another night, and retinol another night. Probably with days in between to let my skin rest. We’ll see how this plan works out.

Leave a Reply

