Humble pie – or I should have listened to everyone else about patch testing.

So. Over the course of a week, I noticed that my skin was getting little, angry red bumps. At first, I thought it was due to all the house work we’ve been doing lately on fixing up the house we bought. (The ceilings hadn’t been painted in 30 years, to start. They’re getting painted and so am I unfortunately.) But I noticed that my skin would get bumpier and more aggravated when I washed it, only to calm down by the end of the day or early morning. Something pinged in the back of my head – had I actually looked up the product’s of ingredients for The Faceshop Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil or Missha Super Aqua Refreshing Cleansing Foam? Having had a great experience so far with Asian beauty products, I had only patch tested these two items for day each and assumed they were fine for my sensitive skin. I hadn’t looked up either one, so I duly looked them up on CosDNA, a website where users can submit the ingredients list of their products.

Needless to say, I should have been doing this first for all the products that I was using. Here’s the ingredient list for the Faceshop Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil from CosDNA:

Isopropyl Myristate, Glyceryl Tricaprylate-caprate, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyglyceryl-10 diisostearatel, Oryza sativa, Saponaria Officinalis Leaf Extract, Rice Bran Oil,  Buxus Chinensis Oil, Glycerol, Aqua , Butylene Glycol, Parfum

While the rice bran and parfum explain why the cleansing oil reminded me of jasmine tea and freshly steamed rice, the high acne rating of isopropyl myristate, 5 out of 5 for causing acne, did not bode well for my skin. I felt my stomach sink as CosDNA pointed out that Buxus Chinesis oil is also a moderate acne causing ingredient at 2 out of 5. It’s been a week of soild use and my skin isn’t getting better, it’s worsening. There’s an angry, red pimple on my chin and whiteheads on my cheek. The ingredient list didn’t get any better  with Missha Super Aqua Refreshing Cleasning Foam.

Here’s the list of ingredients for Missha Super Aqua Refreshing Cleansing Foam from CosDNA:

Water, Myristic acid, Glycerin, Potassium Hydroxide, Lauric Acid, Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Ceteth-20, PEG-40 Stearate, Glycol Distearate, Lauramide DEA, Seawater, Salix Nigra Bark Extract, Rosa Damascena Flower Water. Amethyst Powder, Pearl powder, Tourmaline, Acorus Gramineus Root, Fragance, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Blue 1

This was not good for me at all. Lauric acid is rated as 4/5 for causing acne and myristic acid is rated 3/5 while stearic acid was rated 2/5 for causing acne. Not to mention isopropyl myristate is the esther form of myristic acid. The likelihood of that chemical and its derivatives being an acne trigger for me just went up a notch. (Yes, in chemistry, if something has a similar name, they are probably chemically similar. In this case, these two chemicals differ by one isopropyl group attached at the terminal oxygen of myristic acid.)  No wonder my skin felt just a little bit bumpier every time I washed it. I was washing my poor skin with acne-causing ingredients, while mistakenly thinking that only 1-2 days of patch testing was enough to tell me if I was going to have a reaction to a product. It took a solid week of using these products before I put 2 and 2 together. I had changed the pillow cases and noticed that my significant other’s skin had started to clear up, so I knew the acne had to be caused by my routine. My significant other does not follow an asian beauty routine like I do so that was an easy cause of my acne to eliminate.

Needless to say, I ordered Skinfood Black Sugar Cleansing Oil and Sugar Scrub through Amazon Prime. (If you remember my previous entry listing all their ingredients, nothing was rated higher than a 1 for both products on CosDNA.) The hardest part will be waiting for it to get here so I can resume my routine! I picked up a bottle of Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Daily Cleanser Foaming Formula, which CosDNA notes has no irritants or acne-causing agents. Here’s hoping it works, becauseI cannot stand the idea of leaving the residues of the Faceshop’s Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil or Missha’s Super Aqua Refreshing Cleansing Foam on my skin any longer than I have to.

Leave a Reply

