Day 3

Well, that’s a bummer. Patch testing of Skinfood Black Sugar Cleansing Water has shown that it breaks me out. I’d been testing to see how well it cleans my skin in the morning. I’d just swiped a cotton swab on my right cheek, followed the instructions for not washing it off, and proceeded with the rest of my morning routine. It took me about 3 days to put together that the increase of whiteheads was limited to the area where i was testing. Damn. Before I forget, here’s a quick gander at the ingredients list from CosDNA:

Water, Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Alcohol, Hexylene Glycol, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Cocoyl Apple Amino Acids, PCA ethyl cocoyl arginate, Disodium EDTA, Sucrose, Caprylyl Glycol, Methylparaben, Parfum

Hexylene Glycol is rated a 2, so it might have been the ingredient causing the white heads. It’s also included in Simple’s Micellar water, so that’s off the list of things I’ll ever try. However, the olive oil ingredient could also have been a factor since not everyone reacts the same way to olive oil. It works great for some, and yet it will break others out as well.

I guess I really do have to wash my face with my foaming cleanser in the mornings. At least I know that Neutrogena’s Ultra Gentle Cleanser works fine, even if it’s not an Asian beauty product. But I really had wanted to avoid the mess that is washing my face in the mornings, because let’s be honest, I’m not at my most graceful when I’ve first woken up. I suppose I could try Bioderma’s micellar water if I really want to eliminate morning face washing and associated water splashing all over the bathroom.

4 thoughts on “Day 3

  1. It’s such a headache when a product doesn’t workout. I created a spreadsheet with everything that has broken me out in the past with ingredients to see if there’s anything that’s a common ingredient in all of them. Hope you find a replacement soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

